Topaz and emerald fields spread out on both sides of the highway
Under a Renoir sky
Broccoli clusters of trees seem to observe me silently as I whizz past them
I see that the West has always been in expansion
Vast
Wide open and inviting
An aerial view without ever leaving the earth
The lay of the land is easy on the eyes; fields of vision gently gliding
[I imagine: boots on the ground, and calico sun bonnets
Leather saddles, wool, cotton, and metal,
blackened pots, frayed hemlines]
Visions were carried out
shielding delicacy and trumpeting courage
I would rather be in these open fields traveling and enjoying this present day gift
Than be on a luxurious ocean cruise
The warm, waving wheat is a sea of productivity and sweat and nourishment and freedom
It breathes and sighs
Sophisticated simplicity

A. Locke 2013